Kingdom : Animalia
                    Class : Mammalia
                 Family : Vombatidae
  Scientific Name : Vombatus Ursinus

                      Size : 1 - 1.2m (39 - 47in)
                 Weight : 20 - 35kg (44 - 77lbs)
           Top Speed : 40km/h (25mph)
            Life Span : 20 - 25 years

                Colour : Brown, Tan, Grey
           Skin Type : Fur
Special Features : Hairy nose and pouch
                                  to nurse young
  1. Related to kangaroos and koalas, wombats are found in the islands of Australia.
  2. These medium-sized mammals are grey or brown in colour and have a short tail.
  3. The two common types of Wombats known are bare-nosed Wombats and hairy-nosed Wombats.
  4. Wombats look cute and harmless but they have a short fuse and are aggressive.
  5. Wombats are herbivorous animals and eat shoots, leaves, bulbs, fruits, bark etc.
  6. They keep gnawing on hard vegetation in order to control their ever growing teeth.
  7. Wombats dig and live in extensive burrows with many interconnecting tunnels and chambers.
  8. They are nocturnal, foraging for food at nights while resting during the day.
  9. The 2 main predators are Dingoes and the Tasmanian devil.
  10. Wombats have hard backsides and dive head first into their tunnels if threatened.
  11. Wombats look pudgy and have a waddling walk but can run fast when necessary.
  12. Wombats are marsupials who carry their young in a warm and safe body pouch.
  13. Wombats reproduce every 2 years and average litter size is usually 1.
  14. Their pouches are rear facing, thereby protecting it from dirt when the mother digs.
  15. They are solitary animals who can live for about 20 – 26 years.
  16. Wombats are often hunted by aboriginal tribes of Australia who eat their meat.
  17. They are also considered as a pest by farmers and hence trapped or killed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *