Kingdom : Animalia
                    Class : Mammalia
                 Family : Atelidae
  Scientific Name : Lagothrix Lagotricha

                      Size : 50 - 60cm (20 - 24in)
                 Weight : 5 - 8kg (11 - 18lbs)
           Top Speed : 56km/h (35mph)
            Life Span : 7 - 10 years

                Colour : Black, Brown, Grey
           Skin Type : Fur
Special Features : Rounded head and
                               strong prehensile tail
  1. Woolly Monkeys are primates which are found in the forests of North-West South America.
  2. They are medium to large sized and have soft fur covering their bodies.
  3. There are 4 species of Woolly Monkeys: Brown or Common, Grey, Columbian and Silvery.
  4. They use their long prehensile tails for grip and balance thus freeing their hands.
  5. Woolly Monkeys are arboreal and diurnal, living in groups called troops on trees.
  6. Woolly Monkeys are social animals but split up when forging for food.
  7. They are omnivores and eat fruits, seeds, leaves, flowers, insects and small rodents.
  8. Their main predators are large birds of prey and large cats like jaguars.
  9. They are promiscuous by nature; one male mates with many females and vice versa.
  10. Gestation period of Woolly Monkeys is 7 – 8 months and litter size is 1.
  11. Babies are cared for by their mothers till they become independent around 6 months.
  12. Woolly Monkeys are good communicators and use sound, sight and touch to convey information.
  13. Woolly Monkeys can live for about 7 – 10 years on an average.
  14. Their numbers are declining due to human encroachments and habitat loss due to deforestation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *