Kingdom : Animalia
                         Class : Crustacea
                      Family : Brachyura
       Scientific Name : Brachyura

                     Size(L) : 1cm - 400cm 
                                       ( 0.4in - 157in)
                     Weight : 100g - 2,000g 
                                       ( 3.5oz - 704oz)
                Top Speed : 19km/h (12mph)
                 Life Span : 1 - 100 years

                      Colour : Red, Brown,
                                        Orange, Blue
                 Skin Type : Shell
Distinctive Features : Hard, armoured 
                                      shell and eight legs
  1. Crabs are a type of crustaceans like prawns, shrimp and lobster.
  2. There are more than 6700 species of crabs split into 93 crab groups.
  3. They mostly inhabit shallow ocean water, rocky pools and coral reefs.
  4. Freshwater crabs inhabit rivers and lakes and some species stay on land for long durations.
  5. Their average length is about 40 cm.
  6. They have a thick armoured shell to protect them from immediate danger.
  7. Out of the 8 legs, the two armoured claws in the front help them catch their prey.
  8. Crabs are carnivores and mainly feed on shrimp, fish and mussels.
  9. Their natural predators are Birds, Otter and Octopus.
  10. They may be red, brown, orange or blue in color.
  11. Interestingly, the Japanese Spider Crab has a leg span exceeding 4m in length.
  12. The pea crab is the smallest species of crab which only grows to a few millimeters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *